» Willkommen auf English «

bsk
offline



OC Newbie
13 Jahre dabei !

AMD Athlon XP Mobile


Hi there!
My CPU is an AMD Xp-M 2600+
I've got a Shuttle SN41G2. That is to say that I can't modify the multiply, the Vcore by the bios...
About the multiply, it's ok. I can reach X14 without a problem.

But about the Vcore by Pin Modding... Do I have to cut all my L11 bridges???
What will happen if I just Pin Modding the socket without cuting all the L11 bridges?

Thx all for your answers :godlike:

Beiträge gesamt: 3 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Aug. 2004 | Dabei seit: 4864 Tagen | Erstellt: 11:16 am 19. Aug. 2004
ocinside
aus Krefeld
online



Administrator
16 Jahre dabei !

Intel Core i5
3800 MHz @ 5098 MHz
60°C mit 1.44 Volt


Sorry for the late answer :snore:
If you like to choose a Vcore which is lower than your original Vcore, you have to cut them, but if you like to get for example 1,85 Volt it's not necessary.
L11 and the Pins have the same function, so if you don't cut the L11 bridges you'll get a combination of both settings.


Hardware News lesen * preiswert einkaufen * Unterhalten
Übertakten, Modding und Testberichte * Fanartikel und Bausätze kaufen

Beiträge gesamt: 152804 | Durchschnitt: 25 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: April 2001 | Dabei seit: 6071 Tagen | Erstellt: 14:48 am 1. Sep. 2004
bsk
offline



OC Newbie
13 Jahre dabei !

AMD Athlon XP Mobile


Thx U so much!!!:thumb:
:godlike:
What do you mean by "you'll get a combination of both settings"???
My aim is to have a Vcore higher than the original...
So I just need to put my wires just like the Workshop, that's it?

My Xp-M 2600+ is settled at 1,55V
I want to have 1,85V

(sorry i'm a bit afraid because my previous Barton 2500+ burned last time I wanted to use this trick)

Beiträge gesamt: 3 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Aug. 2004 | Dabei seit: 4864 Tagen | Erstellt: 16:41 am 2. Sep. 2004
MajorTom
aus Ösiland
offline



Basic OC
15 Jahre dabei !

AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
2000 MHz @ 2500 MHz
48°C mit 1.35 Volt


1) What he means by "you get a combination of both settings" is:
if u want too lower the Voltage - u cant avoid cutting (the relevant l11's) - and the wires are only a substitute for closing the respective Bridge
- so if u leave the l11's untouched and put some wires in the socket - u'll end up with a (probably weird) Combination of closed l11's and wired l11's
As 1.85V needs all l11's closed, this is definitaly going to work with the wire-trick but and that brings me to

2) I wouldnt risk to fry my CPU at that voltage (espescially not on Air) - U should be able to reach 95% of its potential maximum speed at 1.65 to 1.7V (which is in my opinion high enough for the poor Mobile)

Beiträge gesamt: 128 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Juni 2002 | Dabei seit: 5656 Tagen | Erstellt: 14:20 am 3. Sep. 2004
bsk
offline



OC Newbie
13 Jahre dabei !

AMD Athlon XP Mobile


Thx MajorTom!!!:godlike:
I'll follow your advise and only put some 1,7V on my mobile.
Even if I'll soon be watercooled...
I prefer not to cut my Xp-M by the way.
One more time, thx U so much :thumb:
(sorry for my poor english, I'm french ;) )

Beiträge gesamt: 3 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Aug. 2004 | Dabei seit: 4864 Tagen | Erstellt: 15:31 am 3. Sep. 2004
bunny
offline


OC Newbie
13 Jahre dabei !


HiHi just wondering, im thinking of putting at 2600+ athlon mobile
into my SN41G2....i want to do the voltage mod..however i know
2600+ mobile is only 1.45 V....

the interactive only starts with 1.475 V....does that mean if i want to put mine CPU at 1.65V i just do the exactly same in the diagram without cutting the L12 bridge....please help!!!

Beiträge gesamt: 2 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Sep. 2004 | Dabei seit: 4839 Tagen | Erstellt: 15:21 am 13. Sep. 2004
bunny
offline


OC Newbie
13 Jahre dabei !


oh i just got 1 weird problem..i got sn41g2 motherboard..and i tried the pin mod for the voltage...everything goes fine so far...how ever....
when i set my pin mod on 1.65V.....it goes to 1.61V in bios...
so i go ..okay...maybe i will try 1.7V mod.....when i tried that..
it goes to 1.79 V in bios......i go what the hell!!


the next step i will try will be 1.675..hopefully that will be something between 1.79V and 1.61.....is there any explaination what went wrong?

Beiträge gesamt: 2 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Sep. 2004 | Dabei seit: 4839 Tagen | Erstellt: 2:23 am 14. Sep. 2004
ocinside
aus Krefeld
online



Administrator
16 Jahre dabei !

Intel Core i5
3800 MHz @ 5098 MHz
60°C mit 1.44 Volt


Hiya, I think you got the combination of a connected L11 bridge and the Pin-Mod.
Better cut all L11 bridges very well before you make the Pin-Mod to get the right Vcore ;)


Hardware News lesen * preiswert einkaufen * Unterhalten
Übertakten, Modding und Testberichte * Fanartikel und Bausätze kaufen

Beiträge gesamt: 152804 | Durchschnitt: 25 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: April 2001 | Dabei seit: 6071 Tagen | Erstellt: 19:24 am 16. Sep. 2004
decentbloke
aus UK
offline


OC Newbie
13 Jahre dabei !


Aaaargh! Wonderful though it is, reading all this stuff has put my head in a spin. I've just acquired a Shuttle SN41G2 SFF system (version 1) and I'm looking for a CPU that will give a decent balance between speed and cool (=quieter) running. The XP-M 2500+ looks good, but the SN41G2 has no provision for adjusting the multiplier or vcore, only FSB up to 200MHz. Reading around, it looks as though desktop mobos interpret the XP-M's stock vcore instruction (VID) as 1.575V, rather than the 1.45V set by a laptop mobo - see the table at http://www.cpuheat.wz.cz/html/AXP_multiplier/AXP_Multiplier.htm
This seems to explain bunny's "wrong" vcores when using the pin mod alone to set at 1.65V and 1.75V by pinmod.

So, I guess the CPU would get 1.575V by default in the Shuttle unless I apply a mod to allow it to be set lower, and that to set vcore at less than 1.575V I would need to cut L11 and apply a pin mod. Is that correct, please?

With L11 cut, will the Shuttle read the XP-M's VID as if it were a desktop or mobile CPU, as in the table at the linked above?

Also from what I've read, the XP-M will boot initially with a low multiplier (6x?). With no multiplier adjustment by jumper or BIOS in the SN41G2, it looks like the only way to set a higher multiplier is to apply a pin mod. That's no great problem, but at what should I set it? Taking out the CPU and changing the pin mods for multiplier (and maybe vcore) looks like a hell of a way to find that nice compromise between speed and quietness by trial and error. Any ideas what multipliers I might be able to use comfortably at 1.475V (lowest in the pin-mod selector) and at 1.575V (default)?

Or should I just buy a desktop 2500+ ??

Finally, anyone know what PCI bus frequency would be at 200MHz FSB and (say) 190MHz on the SN41G2?

Any thoughts or advice would be welcome, especially if based on experience. Thanks.

Beiträge gesamt: 3 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Okt. 2004 | Dabei seit: 4818 Tagen | Erstellt: 18:56 am 4. Okt. 2004
ocinside
aus Krefeld
online



Administrator
16 Jahre dabei !

Intel Core i5
3800 MHz @ 5098 MHz
60°C mit 1.44 Volt


First of all welcome to the ocinside.de board, decentbloke :)

The first decision you have to make is if you like to overclock by software or with the bridges/pins.

Of course it's easier to overclock by software if you mobo is supported, but you always have to start the software via command line, etc. instead of having a fixed multi/vcore.
So if you buy a new barton, t-bred, etc. which is manufactured after the 39~43 week of 2004 there's at this time no choice - you have to change it into a mobile one and overclock it by software and/or overclock it over the FSB.

And if you buy a mobile processor, you have the choice of using the software, or unlocking the CPU and set the mobile to a desktop CPU (don't hesitate to look at my last Barton/T-Bred painting guide where the mobile Vcore is explained with the bridges) because the mobile processors still don't have the new multi lock.

Of course it's a matter of the processor price and of the used mainboard chipset (nForce2 boards don't work with the software, yet).

So don't put your head in a spin, just think about the first steps and about the money you like to spend ;)



Hardware News lesen * preiswert einkaufen * Unterhalten
Übertakten, Modding und Testberichte * Fanartikel und Bausätze kaufen

Beiträge gesamt: 152804 | Durchschnitt: 25 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: April 2001 | Dabei seit: 6071 Tagen | Erstellt: 20:30 am 4. Okt. 2004