» Willkommen auf English «

Adde
offline


OC Newbie
15 Jahre dabei !

AMD Athlon XP
1533 MHz @ 1667 MHz
40°C mit 1.65 Volt


I have recently bought an Xp 1700+ Throughbread A (DLT3) or whatever those letters were. Anyway its one of those Cpu:s that should have 1.5V Core voltage. I didnt need to unlock or anything, just choose any higher multiplier that was available and it worked without problems.

The problem, is that on my Abit KR7A board I cant get any higher multiplier than 12.5x. That brings it to 1667Mhz, but I want more! It seems I cant get much more than 140Mhz Fsb with this board due to the dividers (only 4:2:1 and 3:2:1). So this leaves me to get the multiplier up a notch. The Bios doesnt help me with that...

So, does anyone know if it is possible to use the Paint guide (Very nice) to set a higher multiplier and bypass the mobo? Would it work with this motherboard? Would be nice to know before starting smearing all kinds of things on the cpu =)

(I tried it at 1725Mhz, 12.5x138. Worked, didnt test much. But I only give it 1.65V and I can squeese it up to around 2V. So it feels like I could get more out of it.)

Beiträge gesamt: 2 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Dez. 2002 | Dabei seit: 5478 Tagen | Erstellt: 0:35 am 17. Dez. 2002
ocinside
aus Krefeld
online



Administrator
16 Jahre dabei !

Intel Core i5
3800 MHz @ 5098 MHz
60°C mit 1.44 Volt


Hiya,
yes, it works if you "paint" this CPU to another multi ;)
But anyway first please try out to set the multiplier in your BIOS to 5x, may be the remapping of this multi will give you a multi of 14x.


Hardware News lesen * preiswert einkaufen * Unterhalten
Übertakten, Modding und Testberichte * Fanartikel und Bausätze kaufen

Beiträge gesamt: 152822 | Durchschnitt: 25 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: April 2001 | Dabei seit: 6073 Tagen | Erstellt: 18:24 am 18. Dez. 2002
Adde
offline


OC Newbie
15 Jahre dabei !

AMD Athlon XP
1533 MHz @ 1667 MHz
40°C mit 1.65 Volt


Thanks for the quick answer.

I tried to put the multiplier to 5x, it booted as 666Mhz =)
Ill try to do it manually and see what happens. Do you have any suggestions which multiplier I should try with? 14x maybe?

What does it mean when it says reserved on 14.5x in the guide?

Beiträge gesamt: 2 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Dez. 2002 | Dabei seit: 5478 Tagen | Erstellt: 1:30 am 19. Dez. 2002
ocinside
aus Krefeld
online



Administrator
16 Jahre dabei !

Intel Core i5
3800 MHz @ 5098 MHz
60°C mit 1.44 Volt


I think 1667 MHz isn't bad at all for a 1700+ CPU, so i'm not sure how high your processor finally might go :noidea:

Of course you can try it with 14x, but no one can promise you that your CPU will work with this speed.
If it's possible you should set your FSB to 100 MHz before you try to increase the multiplier to see if you paint it successful to the right multi.
Otherwise it may be that your PC won't startup and you don't know if you made a failure or if your CPU doesn't like this higher frequency :ohwell:

The 14,5x multi doesn't work, even if this bridge settings should be the theoretical setting for this multiplier, so may be AMD will "allow" this multi in further CPUs.


Hardware News lesen * preiswert einkaufen * Unterhalten
Übertakten, Modding und Testberichte * Fanartikel und Bausätze kaufen

Beiträge gesamt: 152822 | Durchschnitt: 25 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: April 2001 | Dabei seit: 6073 Tagen | Erstellt: 9:00 am 19. Dez. 2002
Timex
offline


OC Newbie
14 Jahre dabei !


I've gone by what the paint job said and tried to set my FSB to x16.5 but it will not use that value.  I'm using a KR7A-133R and it only list up to x12.5.  By the way the CPU I'm overclocking is a TBred "B".  Can anyone help me, I just need to know how it can be done.  Thanks

Beiträge gesamt: 1 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Jan. 2003 | Dabei seit: 5436 Tagen | Erstellt: 0:50 am 28. Jan. 2003
darkcrawler
aus cottbus
offline



Real OC or Post God !
16 Jahre dabei !

Intel Pentium Dual Core
1600 MHz @ 3206 MHz mit 1.316 Volt


use a "known" multiplier, such as 15 (of a fsb 133 xp 2400) that should work.

and maybe update your bios

Beiträge gesamt: 12262 | Durchschnitt: 2 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Mai 2001 | Dabei seit: 6057 Tagen | Erstellt: 13:57 am 28. Jan. 2003
ocolli
aus Hamburg
offline



OC God
16 Jahre dabei !

AMD Athlon 64
2200 MHz @ 2800 MHz
55°C mit 1.52 Volt


Gentleman,

does anyone know if there is a OC-Bios available for the KR7A which offers greater multiplier than 12,5???

Thanx :beer:


«ocolli - da geht was.»

Beiträge gesamt: 1761 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Sep. 2001 | Dabei seit: 5926 Tagen | Erstellt: 11:40 am 7. Feb. 2003
mikeraach
offline


OC Newbie
14 Jahre dabei !

AMD T-Bred
1470 MHz @ 2000 MHz
40°C mit 1.65 Volt



Zitat von Timex am 0:50 am Jan. 28, 2003
I've gone by what the paint job said and tried to set my FSB to x16.5 but it will not use that value.  I'm using a KR7A-133R and it only list up to x12.5.  By the way the CPU I'm overclocking is a TBred "B".  Can anyone help me, I just need to know how it can be done.  Thanks



To gain higher multipliers you must brake the L3 connectors.

Example, brake the last 2 L3 bridges to obtain a default 15x multiplier.

I am curious to know if this works becuase I want to do this to my cpu.  If you have done it, please post.

Also, if you need to cut the bridges, follow this link for an easy method: http://www.amdforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=191920

Beiträge gesamt: 1 | Durchschnitt: 0 Postings pro Tag
Registrierung: Feb. 2003 | Dabei seit: 5419 Tagen | Erstellt: 2:02 am 13. Feb. 2003